Llanvaches Community Council is the first tier of Local Government and plays a vital role in representing the interests of the local community in which they serve and comprises seven local Councillors. Community Councils have a statutory power to precept (council tax) the local government electors in the area to finance the responsibilities that flow from the exercise of discretionary powers.


Each ward is divided up into a number of communities. Each community has a community or town council which is made up of a number of community councillors who represent the views of their community and make local decisions.

The Community Councils main responsibility is for two playing fields in the Village. The football field known as Glebeland’s is leased from The Representative Body of the Church in Wales on an ongoing lease and the playing field behind Wentwood Drive is leased from Newport City Council on a 999 year lease. The Council is wholly responsible for the grass and hedge cutting and the maintenance of the play equipment and its Members carry out fortnightly inspections to check for faults and damage.


The Council also comments on all planning applications in the village with Newport City Council making the final decision, taking into account our views.

 The Councillors below can be contacted via the Clerk or their direct email addresses. 

Member Register of Interests for 2018 - 2019 

Member Register of Interest for 2019 - 2020 - none

Member Register of Interest for 2020 - 2021

Member Register of Interest for 2021 - 2022 - none 

Member Register of Interest for 2022 - 2023 - none 

Member Register of Interest for 2023 - 2024 - none to date 

Community Councillors

Ward Councillors

Newport City Council is divided into 21 wards, each of which is represented by one, two or three elected councilllors. These councillors form part of Newport City Council and make decisions for the whole of the Newport.  Your Ward Councillors for Llanvaches are:


Ray Mogford                                                         

Ward Councillor

William Routley

Ward Councillor